Yesterday the Education Finance Council (EFC), which represents U.S. nonprofit and state agency student finance organizations, opposed the Fairness for Struggling Students Act of 2011.

In late May, Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and Al Franken (D-MN) joined U.S. Representatives Steve Cohen (D-TN), Danny Davis (D-IL), George Miller (D-CA) and John Conyers (D-MI) in introducing this legislation in both the Senate and the House with the goal to treat private student loans in bankruptcy the same as other types of private debt.

Subscribe Now

Access to a full range of industry content, analysis and expert commentary.

30-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Access coverage of the securitization marketplace, including breaking news updated throughout the day.